After World War One ended and the provisions of the Treaty of Versailles came into force, Poland was granted territories formerly held by Russia, Germany and Austria.  Additionally, Austria and Russia were fragmented into other new countries which bordered Poland.  Some areas on or near the borders contained large numbers of Polish persons but were claimed by Poland's neighbors.  In order to protect the Polish population in these areas,  Poland made some territorial claims on it's borders between 1918 and 1922.  Until the disputes could be resolved (by plebiscite or military action), postage was issued locally in these areas.  They included:
* Central Lithuania - Litwa Srodkowa * Upper Silesia - Gorny Slask * East Silesia Cieszyn
*  Western Ukraine Zachodi Ukraina  * Marienwerder Kwidzyn  * Allenstein  Olsztyn  * Ukraine

Central Lithuania - Litwa Srodkowa                                                   Return to top
    Occupied in 1919 by Poland (thereby overthrowing the LitBel Republic - a Bolshevik puppet government) and claimed because the majority of the local population was Polish.  The territory was lost in early 1920, but retaken by Polish forces under General Zeligowski, who entered Wilno (Vilnius) in October 1920.  A plebiscite was held in 1922, and the territory became part of Poland.  This territory was seized by the Soviet Union during the Second World War and now forms part of Lithuania.  Stamps were issued between 1920 and 1922.
Click here to go to the Litwa Srodkowa page.

Upper Silesia- Gorny Slask                                                                       Return to top
    Under dispute by Poland and Germany.  Under the provisions of the Treaty of Versailles (sections 88 and 90), a temporary Allied Occupation Government Commission administered the area until a plebiscite was held in 1921.  Much controversy surrounds the fairness of the vote, which divided the area between Poland and Germany.  Stamps were issued by the Allied Occupation Commission until the territory was divided.  Some un-official stamps were issued by the Polish and German Insurgents during the Silesian Uprisings, in 1921.
Click here to go to the Gorny Slask page.

Eastern Silesia                                                                                           Return to top
    An area disputed by Poland and Czechoslovakia.  This territory was divided up between Poland and Czechoslovakia, with the border running through Cieszyn (Teschen).  Both Polish and Czech stamps were used with overprints during the dispute.  Some of the territory was retaken by Poland in 1938.    Click here to go to the Eastern Silesia page.

East Galicia - Western Ukraine                                                            Return to top
    Formerly part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire and claimed by both Poland and the Western Ukrainian People's Republic.   Poland had gained some control of this area early in the 1918-21 war, but fighting continued and the Western Ukrainians issued stamps (overprinted Austrian Empire stamps) from Lwow (rare), Kolomyya and Stanislawow, until Poland gained total control of the region in July, 1919.  The area was seized by the Soviet Union during WW II and incorporated into the USSR as the result of the post-war re-drawing of the borders.  Much of this area is now part of Ukraine.  Click here to go to the Western Ukraine page.

Marienwerder                                                                                           Return to top
    A disputed area between Germany (West Prussia) and Poland.  Under the provisions of the Treaty of Versailles (sections 96 and 97), a plebiscite was held in 1920.  The result of the vote was in favour of Germany and this territory became German in late 1920.  Stamps were issued by the Inter-Allied Commission.  German stamps with "Commission Interalliee Marienwerder" overprints were also issued.  Known today as the area around Kwidzyn.
Click here to go to the Marienwerder page

Allenstein                                                                                               Return to top
    A disputed area on the Polish/East Prussian border.  A plebiscite was held under the provisions of the Treaty of Versailles (sections 94 and 95) in 1920, and this area became part of East Prussia.  German stamps with overprints were used until the vote.  This area is now part of Poland, and is known as Olsztyn.
Click here to go to the Allenstein page

Ukraine                                                                                               Return to top
    During the 1918-21 war against the Bolsheviks, the Polish army (allied with Ukrainians like Petlura) entered Kiev in May 1920 in the vain hope of setting up an independent Ukrainian Republic allied with Poland.  Petlura lost control of this area soon afterwards.  After the end of the 1918-21 war, the Ukraine was divided between Poland and Russia.  The majority of the Ukraine was held by Russia with disastrous results.  Stalin eventually caused the starvation of millions of Ukrainians.  Annexed by Russia as the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist People's Republic, after which Soviet Russian stamps were used.
Click here to go to the Ukraine page

BialyRussia                                                                                          Return to top
    As with the Ukraine, BialyRussia (Belorus) was also the scene of fighting between Poland and Russia.  During the Russian civil war that followed the Bolshevik revolution, General Bulak-Balachowicz led an anti-Bolshevik force in BialyRussia.  Many Poles fought under his command against the Bolsheviks.  After the end of the Polish-Russian war of 1918-21, BialyRussia was divided between Poland and Russia, with Russia retaining the larger portion.

It was reputed that a set of 5 stamps was issued in 1920 to be used by General Bulak-Balachowicz's  forces, but it can not be confirmed if they were actually used.

Return to Stamp page