Occupied Poland Before 1918

Before 1918, Poland was occupied by Austria, Germany and Russia.   Southern Poland (Galicia) used Austrian postage.  Northern and Western Poland used German postage.  Russian postage was used in Central and Eastern Poland.  During this period, letters were also sent pre-paid without stamps.

Under Russian occupation only one "Polish" type of stamp was issued in 1860 in the denomination of 10 kopeks.  It was only valid for delivery to addresses in Russian occupied Poland or Russia.  After the 1863 uprising it was replaced by Russian postage.

Austrian Postage click here
German Postage click here
Russian Postage click here
NEW Polish Cancellations on German, Austrian and Russian stamps before 1918

Click here to return to Stamp Page